State Appoints Members of Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Board

(Salt Lake City, UT) – The Utah State Senate has confirmed the appointment of seven Utah physicians to the medical cannabis Compassionate Use Board. The board’s primary responsibilities will be to approve the issuance of medical cannabis patients cards to all patients under the age of 21, and to other patients seeking to treat a medical condition not currently listed as an approved, qualifying condition as defined by the Utah Medical Cannabis Act.

In order to qualify to serve on the board, physicians must be knowledgeable about medicinal use of cannabis, be professionally licensed as a physician in the state of Utah, be board certified, and register with the Medical Cannabis Program as qualified medical providers. In addition, two members must be board certified pediatricians.  

The following physicians were appointed to serve as members of the board:
• Dr. Joel Ehrenkranz, internal medicine and expert in the use of medical cannabis.
• Dr. Ed Redd, internal medicine and past member of the Utah State Legislature.
• Dr. Angelo Giardino, pediatrician and chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Utah School of Medicine and Chief Medical Officer of Primary Children’s Hospital.
• Dr. Nicholas Whipple, pediatric hematology-oncology at the University of Utah
• Dr. Meghan Ward, neurology and epilepsy, Intermountain Healthcare.
• Dr. Richard Segal, psychiatrist.
• Dr. Colleen Marty, pediatrician and hospice and palliative medicine

Three of the board members will serve an initial term of two years, and the remaining four members will serve terms of four years each. The board anticipates it will begin meeting on a regular basis early this fall. 

# # #

Media Contact:
Tom Hudachko
[email protected]